about us

about us
Meet the Staff
Meet the Interns
Board of Directors
Jobs & Internships
The League
Donate Now
Publications & Press
Media Center
PCL Foundation
Contact Us

Donate Now

Donate Now

nwf logo


Board of Directors

board meetingFundamental to PCL is the Board of Directors, which is currently led by Jan Chatten-Brown. Jan has practiced environmental law since she graduated from UCLA Law School in 1971. For the first twenty-one years of her practice, Jan worked in various public law offices. In 1995, Jan opened her own public interest oriented environmental law practice, known as Chatten-Brown & Carstens. Along with four other attorneys, Jan primarily represents environmental and community groups. Much of the practice involves litigation under CEQA. In addition, Jan has appeared on innumerable panels on CEQA and taught environmental law at both UCLA and USC law school.

Our officers and regional directors below also serve as PCL's Executive Committee.

PCL Officers

Graham Brownstein, Chair

Bill Center, Secretary-Treasurer & Chair Emeritus

Jan Chatten-Brown, Past Chair

Sage Sweetwood, Vice Chair & Chair Emeritus

David Mogavero, Vice Chair & Chair Emeritus

Caroline Farrell , Vice Chair

Kevin Johnson, Vice Chair

Judy Corbett, Vice Chair


Elisabeth Brown

Joe DiStefano

Fran Layton

Terry Watt

Denny Zane

Edward Thompson, JR.

Phyllis Faber

Affiliate Members

Les Welsh

Beth Pratt

Directors Emeritus

John Van De Kamp

Byron Sher


HomeAbout UsCampaignsLegislationEventsMembership & Giving
PublicationsMedia CenterPCL FoundationContact UsSite Map

Copyright 2011 The Planning and Conservation League. All rights reserved. Privacy and Contribution Policies To report problems with or to ask questions about our website, please email pclmail@pcl.org.