League Will Salute Five Environmental Heroes at 2011 Symposium

This year five awardees will be recognized for their important work on environmental issues around the state.  Join us to salute the skilled, thoughtful, and strategic work of these individuals and organizations during an Awards Luncheon at the 2011 Symposium.  During the luncheon we will honor:

Senator Alan Lowenthal and Assemblymember Mike Feuer (Legislators of the Year) for their vocal opposition to proposed exemptions to the California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA).  Their leadership stopped several exemptions in 2010 and set the stage for a CEQA-free budget. 

Doug Carstens (Carla Bard Award of Individual Achievement) for his prominent leadership strategizing on CEQA defense efforts during the 2010 legislative session.  With his extensive legal experience, he has ensured the CEQA process remains true to form, while at the same time educating community members and legal professionals through workshops, articles and presentations.

California State Parks Foundation (David Gaines Non-Profit of the Year) for their leadership during the State Budget crisis, fighting back significant budget cuts, and for activating tens of thousands of state park supporters throughout California. The Foundation creatively worked to design Proposition 21, a permanent funding source to keep our state parks open and funded.  Although the measure did not pass in the November elections, they continue to advocate the protection of our state’s most precious and unique areas.

Lynne Plambeck (Dorothy Green Water Advocate of the Year) for her extensive knowledge about California water issues, and her education and outreach efforts to demonstrate the link between land use and water.  Lynne has worked on scores of projects in Southern California where she’s been strategic, thoughtful, and persistent.

Help us celebrate these great individuals and organizations at the PCL and PCL Foundation Symposium on Saturday, January 29, 2011 at the Sheraton in downtown Sacramento.  Early bird (discounted) registration is available through December 31.   Register early to ensure you have a seat at this annual event!